A Flash Back to the 80’s

Aside from exploring Manhattan’s eateries, I’ve been busily searching local restaurants near my home in Queens. There a lot of great local restaurants and one that stood out to me visually was Cheeburger Cheeburger in Great Neck. With an ‘80s themed interior, bright pink walls, classic diner tables, and jukeboxes, Cheeburger Cheeburger screams out retro. I was immediately drawn into the restaurant by their decorations, but I was even more impressed with the food that I was presented with.

Cheeburger Cheeburger has a unique menu where you can get staple burger ingredients such as patties ranging up to 20 ounces as well as buns, but can pick any toppings free of charge. The list of toppings is incredibly extensive and you can even get some unique toppings like bacon and sautéed mushrooms for only $1.49. Taking full advantage of their menu, I ordered their classic burger with lettuce, guacamole, chipotle mayonnaise, and onion. I loved the fact that I was given the chance to create my own burger, and I decided to go with a slightly spicy burger.

Prior to ordering our burgers, Amanda and I ordered the “Best of Both” basket with fries and onion rings and a zesty horseradish sauce. The “Best of Both” basket came out quickly as our appetizer and I loved how everything tasted. Both the fries and onion rings were fried to a well down crisp, and its natural taste was enhanced by the zesty horseradish sauce. The batter used to fry the “Best of Both” basket was not at all greasy and perfectly seasoned. The fries and onion rings were a huge plus to the entire meal.

Our burgers took quite some time to come out but they were worth every minute of the wait. All of the ingredients used in the burger were fresh and the main component, the patty, was grilled to a perfect medium just the way I like it. What I loved the most about my burger was the guacamole – it was extremely fresh and had a great spiciness to it. With a burger that can easily become heavy, the guacamole was a nice balance to the overall flavors. Amanda also enjoyed her burger, claiming that it was one of the better burgers she’s had near Queens. Even though our burgers were delayed, the outstanding taste and quality of the burgers had completely made up for the wait.

As a lover of good burgers, I was very impressed with everything at Cheeburger Cheeburger and it’s definitely a restaurant that I would return to. With their retro theme, Cheeburger Cheeburger also serves milkshakes with a wide flavor range that can be combined to create your own unique milkshake. I’ll be visiting again soon to try their milkshakes, so keep posted for another review.

Cheeburger Cheeburger on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

