Irony, Juxtaposition, & Oxymoron

NYC has many hot-spots all across the island that gives each neighborhood its perk. With so many cafés and restaurants competing for attention, making my decision for meals can’t be any more difficult than it already is. I’ve been to plenty of restaurants that have served me great food and plenty that have done the complete opposite, but the one place that really sticks out on my mind is Serendipity 3. Despite being located in between tightly spaced buildings, Serendipity 3 isn’t hard to spot at all – there usually is an extensive line of people outside of the restaurant/café, waiting for an open table. I paid a visit to Serendipity 3 after hearing my friends raging about the best drink they’ve ever had: the infamous frozen hot chocolate. Upon hearing the name, I loved it immediately. Frozen hot chocolate. The name itself was an irony, juxtaposition, and an oxymoron; the things I absolutely adore about the English language.

Serendipity 3 is a fairly small restaurant consisting of seating areas in both the lower and upper levels. I was seated on the first floor, where I had a good view of the decorations placed around the entire restaurant, romantically themed with an air of playful medieval décor. The restaurant was packed with people, but the waiters roamed around the crowded place with an impressive service and friendliness. Not wanting to just eat the dessert after having waited for so long, my friend and I decided to order a meal as well; I ordered a hamburger with sautéed mushrooms which was served with French fries, lettuce, tomato, and cole slaw (top right), and my friend ordered the young chicken sandwich on toasted Irish soda bread (top left). I was fairly satisfied with our meals, but nothing struck me as worthy enough to be considered taste-bud exploding.

After finishing our late lunch, our long-awaited frozen hot chocolate arrived at our table. Instead of ordering the original frozen hot chocolate, we settled for the mint for extra flavor boost. As expected, the drink was beyond amazing. It was a creamy, slushy blend of a chocolate smoothie and the hot chocolate itself, a combination of rich chocolaty taste with a zest of mint. I was excited to see the bigger-than-average sized drink bowl overflowing with chocolate and we both agreed that this was by far the best dessert-drink that we’ve tried in NYC. Finishing the mint frozen hot chocolate was synonymous to having extravagant fireworks in my mouth, completely voiding my mind of the mundane meal I had prior to dessert. Serendipity 3 is not the place to go if you’re in the mood for a full-on meal, but it’s definitely the right spot if you’re craving sweets. I’d gone back a couple more times after my first visit and ordered a variety of desserts, and I have yet to be disappointed by their collection of sweets. Serendipity 3 is a popular tourist site and it’s definitely more than popular for local eaters.

Serendipity 3 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

